Hit & Run Ticket Penalties in MissouriPosted on
The maximum punishment for a “Hit & Run Ticket” in Missouri is 1 year in jail and a $1,000 fine plus 12 points added to your driving record.
“Hit & Run” is also known as “Leaving the Scene of an Accident.”
An attorney can get your Hit & Run ticket reduced from a 12-point ticket to a non-moving, no-point violation so your driver’s license won’t be revoked.
Punishment For A “Hit And Run” Ticket Or “Leaving The Scene Of An Accident” Ticket In Missouri
The maximum punishment for a misdemeanor Hit & Run ticket or Leaving the Scene of an Accident ticket in Missouri is:
- 1 year in jail and
- $1,000 fine
For a felony Leaving the Scene of an Accident or Hit & Run ticket, the maximum penalty is:
- 4 years in prison and
- $5,000 fine
Your Hit & Run ticket is a felony if:
- The accident resulted in physical injury to someone, or
- There was more than $1,000 worth of property damage, or
- You have a prior conviction for Leaving the Scene of an Accident or Hit & Run on your record
Don’t Plead Guilty To “Hit & Run” or “Leaving The Scene Of An Accident”
If you plead guilty to a Hit & Run ticket, the following will happen:
- You will have to appear in court and be sentenced by the judge
- Points will be added to your driving record (6 points if it was a municipal violation/12 points if it was a state violation)
- Your driver’s license could be revoked for up to 1 year
- You may not be able to get a hardship license while your license is revoked
Click here to read my previous post for more information about what happens if you plead guilty to Hit & Run or Leaving The Scene of an Accident.
Your License Can Be Suspended Or Revoked For Leaving The Scene Of An Accident
The State of Missouri can suspend the driver’s licenses of both the driver and the vehicle owner if the driver pleads guilty to a Hit & Run ticket and the vehicle was not insured.
If you plead guilty to a Hit & Run ticket and the points that are added to your driving record as a result of your plea cause your point total to exceed the acceptable limit, your driver’s license will be suspended or revoked. (If you accumulate 8 points within 18 months, your license will be suspended for 30 days. If you accumulate 12 points within 12 months, your license will be revoked for 1 year.)
What Are You Required To Do When You Get Into An Accident?
Missouri law requires you to do the following if you get into an accident:
- Do not drive away
- Stop your car in a safe place and call the police to report the accident
- Call 911 if anyone involved in the accident is injured
- Turn on your car’s hazard lights to warn oncoming traffic
- Exchange information (name, address, vehicle identification, car insurance) with the driver of the other vehicle involved in the crash
- Don’t leave until a police officer gives you permission
The Missouri Department of Revenue website also has information about what to do if you get into an accident.
How Can An Attorney Help With Your “Hit & Run” Ticket?
If you have been charged with Hit & Run or Leaving the Scene of an Accident, you will need an experienced attorney representing you if you want to get your ticket reduced from a 6-point or 12-point ticket to a non-moving, no-point violation that won’t affect your driving record.
In most cases, the attorney will handle everything without the defendant being required to appear in court.
If you need help with your Missouri “Hit & Run” ticket, contact St. Louis traffic law/criminal defense attorney Andrea Storey Rogers at (314) 724-5059 or [email protected] for a free consultation.
Suscribe to my blog!
Contact Me Today!
Include your case/ticket number, court name, and charge (speeding, shoplifting, marijuana, etc.) and Andrea will respond promptly with a price quote and an estimate of your fines and court costs.
* indicates required information.