Penalties For a “Hit & Run” Ticket in MissouriPosted on
“Leaving the Scene of an Accident” (“Hit & Run”) is a class A misdemeanor in Missouri, with a maximum penalty of 1 year in jail and a fine of $1,000.
“Leaving the Scene of an Accident” can be considered a class D felony, punishable by up to 4 years in prison and a $5,000 fine, if the accident resulted in:
- Physical injury to another party, or
- Property damage in excess of $1,000, or
- The defendant has previously pleaded guilty or been convicted of a violation of this law.
Missouri’s “Leaving the Scene of an Accident” law is RSMo 577.060.
How Will a “Hit & Run” Ticket Affect Your Driving Record?
If a Missouri state trooper issues a ticket to you for leaving the scene of an accident, 12 points will be added to your driving record, which will cause your license to be revoked for 1 year, and you will not be eligible for a hardship license (limited driving privilege).
If a municipal or county police officer issues a ticket to you for leaving the scene of an accident, 6 points (instead of 12) will be added to your driving record, and your eligibility for a hardship license will not be affected.
Your License Can be Suspended Following a “Hit & Run” Ticket
The State of Missouri can suspend the licenses of both the driver and the owner of the vehicle if you leave the scene of an accident and your vehicle was not insured at the time of the accident.
Your license will also be suspended if you leave the scene of an accident that you caused and you fail to pay for the damage to the other vehicle.
You Can Get Your “Hit & Run” Ticket Reduced to a Non-Moving, No-Point Violation
An experienced traffic law attorney can usually get a “Leaving the Scene of an Accident” ticket reduced to a non-moving, no-point violation. The outcome depends on your driving history, the details of your particular case, and the court in which it is being prosecuted.
You will have to provide proof that your insurance company is handling the claim, or that you paid for the damage to the other vehicle. If there was no damage to the other driver’s car, your lawyer will have to obtain an affidavit signed by the other driver stating that there was no damage to the vehicle.
What to Do if You Are Involved in an Accident
As noted previously, leaving the scene of an accident is a crime in Missouri. If you are involved in an accident, you are required by law to do the following:
- Call the police immediately to report the accident.
- Call an ambulance if anyone is injured.
- Move your car to the side of the road if it’s in a position that might cause other drivers to crash into it.
- If the accident happens at night, try to warn oncoming traffic by using flares, your car’s hazard lights, or a flashlight.
- Exchange information with the other driver, including your name, address, vehicle identification, and car insurance information.
- Don’t leave the scene of the accident until a police officer gives you permission to leave.
For more information about what to do when involved in an accident, consult the Missouri Department of Revenue website.
Call St. Louis traffic law attorney Andrea Storey Rogers at (314) 724-5059 to discuss your case and get a price quote for your “Leaving the Scene of an Accident” ticket. Or email Andrea at [email protected]
Suscribe to my blog!
Contact Me Today!
Include your case/ticket number, court name, and charge (speeding, shoplifting, marijuana, etc.) and Andrea will respond promptly with a price quote and an estimate of your fines and court costs.
* indicates required information.