Keep speeding ticket points off your driving record by hiring a traffic law attorney to get your ticket reduced to a non-moving, no-point infraction.
If you plead guilty to a moving violation, such as speeding or running a red light, points will be added to your driving record, and your car insurance rates might increase.
An experienced traffic law attorney can get your speeding ticket reduced to a non-moving, no-point infraction such as “Illegal Parking,” so no points will be added to your driving record and your insurance company will never know you got the ticket.
In exchange for reducing your ticket to a non-moving violation, the court will require you to pay a slightly higher fine plus court costs. You won’t have to appear in court, and the court will give you at least 30 days to pay.
How Many Points Before Your License Gets Suspended?
There is a limit to how many speeding ticket points you can get before Missouri suspends your driver’s license.
Missouri will suspend your driver’s license for 30 days if you accumulate:
- 8 points within 18 months (if it’s a first-time suspension)
Missouri will revoke your driver’s license for 1 year if you accumulate:
- 12 points within 12 months
- 18 points within 24 months
- 24 points within 36 months
How Many Points Will Be Added To Your Driving Record For Traffic Violations
Speeding ticket are moving violations that cause points to be added to your driving record.
Some traffic violations are non-moving, no-point violations, such as “Failure to Register a Vehicle,” “Seat Belt Violation,” or “Expired Plates.”
Other traffic violations, such as “No Insurance,” cause points to be added to your driving record even though they seem to be a non-moving violation.
Here is a list of common Missouri traffic violations and the number of points assessed for each:
- Speeding ticket (city violation) = 2 points
- Speeding ticket (state violation) = 3 points
- Stop Sign Violation = 2 points
- Driving Without a License = 2 points (first offense)
- Driving While Suspended or Revoked = 12 points
- Driving With No Insurance = 4 points
- Driving While Intoxicated = 8 points (first offense)
- Careless & Imprudent Driving = 2 to 4 points
- Reckless Driving = 2 to 4 points
- Leaving the Scene of an Accident = 6 to 12 points (12 points if state violation; 6 points if county or municipal violation)
- Permitting an Unlicensed Driver to Drive = 4 points
How To Remove Points From Your Driving Record
You can remove speeding ticket points from your driving record by doing one of the following:
- If you have not already pleaded guilty, hire a traffic law attorney to get your ticket reduced from a moving violation to a non-moving, no-point violation that won’t affect your driving record or insurance rates.
- If you have already pleaded guilty, you can hire a traffic ticket lawyer to withdraw your guilty plea and get your old speeding ticket reduced to a non-moving violation.
- Attend traffic school to remove the speeding ticket points from your driving record. This is the only option in counties in which the Prosecutor refuses to reduce your ticket to a non-moving, no-point violation.
How To Get Old Tickets Removed From Your Driving Record
You can request that old tickets be removed from your driving record by contacting the Missouri Department of Revenue (Driver’s License Bureau) in Jefferson City, Missouri. Ask them to review your driving record and purge any tickets that are 3 years old or older.
Here’s how to request the removal of an old traffic ticket:
- Send an e-mail request to [email protected]
- Call (573) 526-2407 to request that all old tickets be removed
- Send a written request to:
Missouri Department of Revenue
301 West High Street – Room 470
PO Box 200
Jefferson City, MO, 65105-0200
PLEASE NOTE: A ticket can not be removed if it supports an administrative suspension, revocation, or denial of driving privileges, or if it is required by state law to stay on your driving record for some other reason. For example, tickets for “No Insurance” or “Failure to Maintain Insurance” remain on your driving record forever and can not be removed.
Tickets that led to a suspension or revocation of your driver’s license must remain on your Missouri driving record until 5 years have passed after your license reinstatement date.
Hire a Traffic Ticket Lawyer to Avoid Speeding Ticket Points
An experienced traffic law attorney can get your speeding ticket or other traffic violation reduced to a non-moving, no-point violation that won’t add points to your driving record and won’t cause your car insurance rates to increase.
In most cases, your attorney will take care of everything over the phone or by email and you won’t have to appear in court. Most traffic ticket lawyers offer a free consultation, flat-fee pricing, and an estimate of the outcome of your case.
If you need help with your Missouri speeding ticket, contact St. Louis Speeding Ticket lawyer Andrea Storey Rogers at (314) 724-5059 or [email protected] for a free consultation.