Get Your St. Louis Speeding Ticket Reduced to a Non-Moving Violation

A traffic ticket lawyer can get your St. Louis speeding ticket reduced to a non-moving, no-point violation to avoid points being added to your driving record and an increase in your car insurance rates.

Don’t Plead Guilty to Speeding in St. Louis

If you plead guilty to speeding in St. Louis, points will be added to your driving record, and your car insurance rates may increase.

Instead of pleading guilty, you can hire a traffic law attorney to represent you. Your attorney will negotiate a plea bargain deal with the Prosecutor to get your ticket reduced to a non-moving, no-point violation such as “Illegal Parking.” The Prosecutor will require you to pay fine that is slightly higher than the original fine, plus court costs. You won’t have to appear in court, and the court will give you at least 30 days to pay the fine and court costs.

As soon as the court receives your payment, your ticket will be reduced to a non-moving, no-point violation. This means no points will be added to your driving record, and your insurance company will never know you got the ticket.

Too Many Points on Your Driving Record Will Cause Your License to be Suspended

When you receive a speeding ticket, it is tempting to just pay the fine and forget about it. However, if you pay the fine, that means you are pleading guilty to speeding. That guilty plea will cause points to be added to your driving record and may also cause your car insurance rates to increase.

For a typical speeding ticket issued by a Missouri State Trooper, 3 points are added to your driving record. For “Driving Without Insurance,” 4 points are added. Standard traffic violations such as running a stop sign or improperly changing lanes are typically 2-point violations.

If you accumulate 8 points on your Missouri driving record within 18 months, your driver’s license will be suspended for 30 days (if it’s your first suspension). Your license will be revoked for 1 year if you accumulate 12 points within 12 months.

You Can Change Your Mind After Pleading Guilty to a St. Louis Speeding Ticket

Many people plead guilty and pay the fine for a speeding ticket and later wish they could change their mind. An experienced traffic law attorney can help you by withdrawing your guilty plea and getting your ticket reduced to a non-moving, no-point violation that won’t affect your driving record or car insurance rates.

It is much easier to withdraw your guilty plea if you 1) did not have an attorney representing you when you pleaded guilty, and 2) not much time has passed since your guilty plea.

If you have pleaded guilty and want to withdraw your plea, consult an experienced attorney to get a price quote for legal representation and an estimate of the fines and court costs you will pay.

How to Remove Points From Your Driving Record After Pleading Guilty to a Speeding Ticket

If your ticket was issued in a county where the Prosecutor won’t reduce your ticket to a non-moving, no-point violation, you may be able to take the Missouri Driver Improvement Program (DIP) to remove the points from your driving record.

You are eligible to take the DIP class if you have not taken it within the past 3 years. You are not eligible to take the DIP class if you have a Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) or if the traffic violation was committed while driving a commercial motor vehicle. You must obtain the judge’s permission to take the DIP class, and you must complete the DIP class within 60 days after pleading guilty.

Read my previous blog post “Missouri Driving School Removes Points From Record” for more information about the Missouri DIP class.

PLEASE NOTE:  If you complete the DIP class, points will be removed from your Missouri driving record, but the speeding conviction will still show up on your driving record, and your insurance company may increase your rates.

For more information, read my previous blog post “How to Get a Speeding Ticket Reduced to a Non-Moving Violation in Missouri.”


To get your St. Louis speeding ticket reduced to a non-moving, no-point violation that won’t affect your driving record or insurance rates, call traffic law attorney Andrea Storey Rogers at (314) 724-5059 for a price quote and estimate of your fine and court costs. Or email Andrea at andrea@leadfootspeedingticket.com

 

How To Get a Speeding Ticket Reduced To a Non-Moving Violation In Missouri

Get your Missouri speeding ticket reduced to a non-moving violation if you want to avoid points being added to your driving record.

An experienced traffic ticket lawyer can get your Missouri ticket amended to a non-moving, no-point violation that won’t affect your driving record or car insurance rates. Some people call this getting a ticket “fixed.”

How Much Does it Cost to Get a Speeding Ticket Reduced to a Non-Moving Violation?

Traffic law attorneys charge a one-time flat fee to represent you for your speeding ticket or other traffic violation. Most traffic ticket lawyers charge reasonable rates. You can call around to compare prices.

After you hire an attorney to represent you and get your ticket reduced to a non-moving, no-point violation such as “Illegal Parking,” you will have to pay a fine and court costs to the court. The fine after getting your ticket fixed will be slightly higher than what the original fine would have been if you had decided to plead guilty to the original charge.

You Won’t Have to Appear in Court For Your Speeding Ticket If You Hire a Lawyer

In most cases, you won’t have to appear in court if you hire an attorney to represent you for your speeding ticket. This is true even for more serious traffic violations such as “Leaving the Scene of an Accident,” “Careless & Imprudent Driving,” or “Driving While Suspended.”

The court usually gives defendants at least 30 days to pay the fine and court costs.

In most traffic ticket cases, everything can be taken care of by email, mail, or fax.  

Get Your Ticket Reduced to a Non-Moving Violation to Avoid Points Being Added to Your Driving Record

Pleading guilty to a speeding ticket or other traffic violation will cause points to be added to your Missouri driving record, and your insurance company may use the conviction as an excuse to increase your car insurance rates.

If you hire an attorney to get your traffic ticket amended to a non-moving violation, no points will be added to your driving record. Your insurance company will never know about the ticket, so they will have no reason to increase your car insurance rates.

How Many Points Can You Get Before Your License is Suspended?

Certain types of tickets cause points to be added to your Missouri driving record. For example:

  • Speeding ticket (city violation) = 2 points
  • Speeding ticket (state violation) = 3 points
  • Driving Without a License = 2 points (for first offense)
  • Driving While Suspended = 12 points
  • Driving With No Insurance = 4 points
  • Driving While Intoxicated = 8 points (for first offense)
  • Careless & Imprudent Driving = 2 to 4 points
  • Leaving the Scene of an Accident = 6 to 12 points (12 points if state violation; 6 points if county or municipal violation)

If you accumulate 8 points within 18 months, Missouri will suspend your driver’s license for 30 days (if it’s your first suspension).

Your license will be revoked for 1 year if you accumulate 12 points within 12 months, 18 points within 24 months, or 24 points within 36 months.

How to Find Out How Many Points Are Added to Your Driving Record For All Traffic Violations

Click here for a full list of Missouri traffic violation points.

How to Find Out How Many Points Are On Your Missouri Driving Record

To find out how many points you have on your driving record, call the Missouri Department of Revenue (Driver’s License Bureau) in Jefferson City, Missouri at (573) 526-2407.

You Can Change Your Mind Even If You Have Already Pleaded Guilty to a Speeding Ticket

In many cases, you can change your mind after pleading guilty to a speeding ticket or other traffic violation. It depends on how much time has passed since you pleaded guilty, but your attorney may be able to get the judge to withdraw your guilty plea and get your ticket amended to a non-moving, no-point violation.

For more information about changing your plea, see my previous blog post about How to Withdraw Your Guilty Plea.


Call St. Louis traffic law attorney Andrea Storey Rogers at (314) 724-5059 or email Andrea at andrea@leadfootspeedingticket.com to get a price quote to have your Missouri speeding ticket or other traffic violation amended to a non-moving, no-point violation.

Construction Zone Speeding Ticket Fines Increase in St. Louis

St. Louis courts are now charging higher fines for construction zone speeding tickets. When you get caught speeding in a construction zone in Missouri, an experienced traffic law attorney can get your ticket reduced to a non-moving, no-point violation that won’t cause points to be added to your driving record or an increase in your car insurance rates.

A Traffic Law Attorney Can Get Your Construction Zone Speeding Ticket “Fixed”

Hiring an attorney to get your speeding ticket reduced to a non-moving violation is sometimes called getting a ticket “fixed.” It is perfectly legal, but it does cost the driver more because courts charge higher fines when they agree to amend speeding tickets to non-moving violations.

How Much is the Fine for a Missouri Construction Zone Speeding Ticket?

Courts charge higher fines than usual when the ticket is issued in a construction zone. If workers are present in the construction zone, it may be more difficult to get your ticket reduced to a non-moving violation, and the fine may be higher than if no workers were present.

For example, if you are caught speeding 10-15 miles over the speed limit in a construction zone (no workers present) in the City of St. Louis, a traffic ticket lawyer can get your ticket reduced to a non-moving, no-point violation. In exchange for getting this ticket reduced to a non-moving violation, you would normally have to pay a fine of $150 plus $50.50 court costs. As of May 2016, the fine for speeding 10-15 miles over the speed limit in a construction zone in St. Louis City is now $300 plus $50.50 court costs.

Why Should You Get Your Speeding Ticket Reduced to a Non-Moving Violation?

Pleading guilty to a speeding ticket will cause points to be added to your driving record and it may also cause your car insurance rates to increase.

If you accumulate 8 points within 18 months, your Missouri driver’s license will be suspended for 30 days (if it’s your first suspension). If you accumulate 12 points within 12 months, your driver’s license will be revoked for 1 year.

Speeding Tickets Follow You Home

If you are an out-of-state driver and you plead guilty to a Missouri speeding ticket, Missouri will report the speeding conviction to your home state. Then your home state will add the speeding conviction (or other traffic ticket conviction) to your driving record.

Getting an out-of-state speeding ticket reduced to a non-moving violation will prevent any negative effects on your home state driving record.

How Much Does It Cost To Get a Missouri Construction Zone Speeding Ticket Reduced to a Non-Moving Violation?

To get your Missouri speeding ticket reduced to a non-moving, no-point violation, you will pay a fee to a traffic law attorney to represent you. You will not have to appear in court, and the court will probably give you at least 30 days to pay the fine and court costs.

The fine after your ticket is reduced to a non-moving violation will be slightly higher than the original fine you would have paid if you had chosen to plead guilty and accept the points on your driving record (and possible increase in your car insurance rates).

What if There Are No Signs Warning You About the Construction Zone?

In many areas, there may be orange cones along the highway as you approach a construction zone but no actual signs specifically warning you of an upcoming construction zone. You can receive a construction zone speeding ticket in these construction/work zones even if there are no warning signs and no construction workers present.

If you see orange cones on the highway, slow down! Workers have been killed by drivers in construction work zones in Missouri, so courts take them very seriously.


To get your Missouri construction zone speeding ticket reduced to a non-moving, no-point violation that won’t affect your driving record or insurance rates, call St. Louis traffic law attorney Andrea Storey Rogers at (314) 724-5059 or email her at andrea@leadfootspeedingticket.com for a price quote and estimate of your fine.


How to Fight a Speeding Ticket in Missouri

Call St. Louis traffic law attorney Andrea Storey Rogers today at (314) 724-5059 if you want to fight your Missouri speeding ticket or other traffic violation.

Getting a Speeding Ticket “Fixed” Keeps Points Off Your License

You can hire a speeding ticket lawyer to get your Missouri ticket amended to a non-moving, no-point violation that won’t affect your driving record or insurance rates. This is sometimes called getting a ticket “fixed.”

If you decide to plead guilty instead of getting your ticket fixed, points will be added to your driving record and your insurance rates may increase.

How Many Points Are Added to Your Driving Record for Traffic Tickets?

Here are some examples of typical moving violations in Missouri and the number of points added to your driving record for each:

  • Speeding ticket (municipal violation) = 2 points
  • Speeding ticket (state violation) = 3 points
  • Driving Without a License = 2 points (for first offense)
  • Driving While Suspended = 12 points
  • Driving With No Insurance = 4 points
  • Driving While Intoxicated = 8 points (for first offense)
  • Leaving the Scene of an Accident = 12 points (state violation; 6 points if county or municipal)

Your driver’s license will be suspended for 30 days (if it’s your first suspension) if you accumulate 8 points within 18 months. Your license will be revoked for 1 year if you accumulate 12 points within 12 months.

Click here for a full list of Missouri traffic violation points.

Getting a Speeding Ticket “Fixed” Prevents Car Insurance Rates From Increasing

Pleading guilty to a moving violation causes points to be added to your driving record. In addition to increasing the risk that your license will be suspended or revoked, points may cause your car insurance rates to increase.

Your insurance company reviews your driving record every time your car insurance policy is up for renewal, or when you buy a new car. At that point, your insurance company may increase your rates if they see any moving violations on your driving record.

How Much Does it Cost to Fight a Speeding Ticket?

The cost to hire a speeding ticket lawyer will depend on what specific traffic violation you have been charged with and which court your case is being prosecuted in.

In general, you may find that traffic ticket lawyers charge less than other types of attorneys to represent someone in court for speeding tickets.

An experienced traffic law attorney will do the following:

  1. Give you a price quote over the phone,
  2. Tell you whether they can get your speeding ticket amended to “Illegal Parking,” and
  3. Give you an estimate of the fine and court costs you will have to pay to the court.

Getting a Speeding Ticket Fixed is More Expensive Than Pleading Guilty

Almost all Missouri courts charge a fine that is higher than the original fine, plus court costs, in exchange for amending speeding tickets to non-moving violations. So, you will pay more to get a speeding ticket amended to a non-moving, no-point violation, but your driving record and car insurance rates won’t be affected.

No Court Appearance Required for Most Speeding Tickets

If you hire an attorney to fight your speeding ticket, you won’t have to appear in court. Your attorney will send you the court paperwork stating what your ticket has been amended to (such as “Illegal Parking”), the amount of the fine and court costs, and your payment due date.

You will then be responsible for paying the fine and court costs to the court by the due date. Most courts give defendants at least 30 days to pay the fine and court costs.

How to Find a Lawyer to Fight Your Speeding Ticket

Hire an experienced traffic law attorney to fight your speeding ticket. You can find an attorney online by Googling “Speeding Ticket Lawyer” or “Traffic Law Attorney” and include the name of the city or county in which you received the ticket, such as “St. Louis Traffic Law Attorney” or “St. Ann Speeding Ticket Lawyer.”

You can also search for a speeding ticket lawyer on legal websites such as AVVO, where you can read client reviews of attorneys and see attorneys’ answers to legal questions.

What to Do If You Already Pleaded Guilty & Want to Change Your Plea

If you have already pleaded guilty to a speeding ticket, it may not be too late to change your plea and get your ticket amended to a non-moving violation. See my previous blog post about How to Withdraw Your Guilty Plea.


To get your Missouri speeding ticket or other traffic violation amended to a non-moving, no-point violation, call St. Louis traffic law attorney Andrea Storey Rogers at (314) 724-5059 to get a price quote for legal representation. Or email Andrea at andrea@leadfootspeedingticket.com

DIP Class Won’t Keep Tickets Off Driving Record

Call St. Louis traffic law attorney Andrea Storey Rogers today at (314) 724-5059 about your Missouri speeding ticket or other traffic violation.

Taking the Driver Improvement Program will remove speeding ticket points, but it won’t prevent the ticket from being reported on your driving record and possibly causing your car insurance rates to increase.

Should You Take the DIP Class to Remove Points From Your Driving Record?

The question of whether a driver should take the DIP class came up this week when someone called my office to ask if I could help him. He had received a 3-point ticket from a Missouri state trooper about 18 months ago. He paid the fine, took the DIP class, and the 3 points were removed from his driving record.

Your Insurance Rates May Increase Even if You Take the DIP Class

About 6 months later, his car insurance rates skyrocketed because of the speeding ticket, even though he took the DIP class. I explained to him that if he had hired a traffic law attorney to get his ticket reduced to “Illegal Parking” or “No-Point Speeding,” no points would have been added to his driving record, and the insurance company would never have known about his ticket.

How to Keep Speeding Tickets From Affecting Your Car Insurance Rates

To keep a speeding ticket from being reported on your driving record and affecting your car insurance rates, you must get your ticket reduced to a non-moving, no-point violation.

An experienced traffic law attorney can get your ticket reduced to “Illegal Parking,” which is a non-moving, no-point violation that won’t affect your driving record or insurance rates.

A “No-Point Speeding” Conviction Will Not Affect Your Driving Record

In some courts in Missouri, it’s not possible to get a speeding ticket reduced to “Illegal Parking.” In those courts, the only option offered by the court is to reduce the ticket to “No-Point Speeding,” or “Speeding 1-4 miles over,” which are no-point speeding violations.

Your ticket will be reported to the Missouri Department of Revenue, but it will not be reported on your driving record, so your insurance company will never know you received the ticket.

In contrast, if you take the DIP class instead of hiring a traffic law attorney to represent you, the points will be removed, but the speeding ticket will show up on your driving record, and your insurance company will see it the next time they review your driving record. (Most insurance companies review your driving record when your insurance policy is up for renewal, or when you buy a new car.)

How Much Will Your Insurance Rates Increase After Getting a Speeding Ticket?

To find out how much your car insurance rates may increase as the result of a speeding ticket, call your insurance agent, or click on this link to read my recent blog post about which traffic tickets cause the biggest increase in insurance rates.


To prevent speeding ticket points from being added to your Missouri driving record, call St. Louis traffic law attorney Andrea Storey Rogers at (314) 724-5059 for a price quote for legal representation and an estimate of your fine and court costs. Or email Andrea at andrea@leadfootspeedingticket.com

Get Speeding Tickets “Fixed” to Avoid License Suspension

Call St. Louis traffic law attorney Andrea Storey Rogers today at (314) 724-5059 about your Missouri speeding ticket or other traffic violation.

If you accumulate too many points on your driving record within a certain amount of time, your Missouri driver’s license will be suspended or revoked. A traffic law attorney can get your speeding ticket reduced to a non-moving, no-point violation so that no points will be added to your driving record.

How Many Points Can You Accumulate Before Your License is Suspended?

When you plead guilty and pay the fine for a speeding ticket or other traffic violation, points are added to your driving record. If you accumulate 8 points within 18 months, your license will be suspended for 30 days, if it’s your first suspension. Your license will be revoked for 1 year if you accumulate 12 points within 12 months, 18 points within 24 months, or 24 points within 36 months.

Out-of-State Tickets Cause Points to be Added to Your Driving Record

Please be aware that tickets you receive in other states will be reported to your home state, causing points to be added to your driving record for those out-of-state tickets.  (See my blog post about why out-of-state speeding ticket convictions appear on your Missouri driving record.)

How to Prevent Your License From Being Suspended

You can prevent your license from being suspended by hiring a traffic law attorney to get your speeding ticket amended to a non-moving violation. You will still have to pay a fine and court costs (and the fine will be higher after the ticket is reduced to a non-moving violation), but no points will be added to your driving record, and your car insurance rates won’t be affected.

What to do if Your License is Already Suspended

If your driver’s license is suspended because you have unpaid speeding tickets, or because you failed to appear in court, you can hire an attorney to get your tickets reduced to non-moving, no-point violations. After you pay the fine and court costs for the tickets, the court will lift the suspension and you can get your driver’s license reinstated.


Call St. Louis traffic law attorney Andrea Storey Rogers at (314) 724-5059 for a price quote to get your speeding ticket amended to a non-moving, no-point violation, or email Andrea at andrea@leadfootspeedingticket.com.


Missouri Traffic Ticket Fines, Points, and Penalties

Call St. Louis traffic law attorney Andrea Storey Rogers today at (314) 724-5059 about your Missouri speeding ticket or other traffic violation.

Click here for a list of fines, points, and penalties for Missouri traffic violations.

The link above will take you to the Missouri “Traffic Bench Guide,” which is used by Missouri judges, prosecutors, and attorneys. You can look up any Missouri traffic violation by its charge code or description to see if it is an infraction, misdemeanor or felony, and the penalties for each.

You can also use this guide to check whether or not a conviction for a particular traffic violation (speeding, running a stop sign, failure to register vehicle, no proof of insurance, seat belt violation, DWI, MIP, etc.) is a moving violation that will be reported to the Missouri Department of Revenue, and how many points will be added to your driving record.

The Traffic Bench Guide can help you determine whether to plead guilty and pay the fine for your ticket, or hire an attorney to get the ticket “fixed” (negotiate a plea bargain with the prosecutor to reduce the charge to a lesser offense) and keep the  points off your driving record.

St. Ann Speed Camera Tickets Are No-Point Infractions

Speed camera tickets issued in St. Ann, Missouri are non-moving, no-point infractions, similar to the infamous St. Louis red-light camera tickets.

St. Ann speed cameras are mounted on vehicles parked on the side of the road, which record drivers who exceed the speed limit in the “school/park zone” on Ashby Road in St. Ann. Tickets are mailed to drivers, rather than being personally issued to the driver by a police officer in the course of a traditional traffic stop.

Speed Camera Tickets Are Legal In Certain Zones

Speed cameras are legal in areas of St. Louis such as school zones, construction zones, “Travel Safe” zones, and other high-traffic areas where it is considered too dangerous for a police officer to pull over a driver and personally issue a traffic ticket.

Some Courts Issue Warrants if You Don’t Pay a Speed Camera Fine

St. Ann Municipal Court – If you don’t pay the fine for a St. Ann speed camera ticket (or red-light camera ticket), the judge can issue a warrant for your arrest.

Bel Ridge Municipal Court – If you appear in court and plead guilty to a speed camera violation but you fail to pay the fine, Bel Ridge will issue a warrant for your arrest.

Cool Valley Municipal Court – If you fail to pay a Cool Valley speed camera ticket, the court will send you two notices, then a summons to appear in court, before finally issuing a warrant.

Pine Lawn Municipal Court has speed cameras but currently does not issue warrants if drivers fail to pay the fines.

Hillsdale Municipal Court issues speed camera tickets but those tickets are not processed through the court’s computer system, so they don’t issue warrants or Failure to Appear charges if a drivers doesn’t pay the fine.

St. Ann Speed Camera Ticket Fines Can Be Paid Online

The fine for a St. Ann speed camera ticket is $126.50, payable online. It may be a bit confusing to drivers who receive one of these speed camera tickets because the ticket states that it is a summons to appear in court, but you can pay the fine online and you don’t have to go to court.

Click here to visit St. Ann Municipal Court’s website. Or, you can call the St. Ann Municipal Court Clerk at (314) 428-6811 if you have any questions about your speed camera ticket.

Too Many Points Will Cause Your Driver’s License To Be Suspended Or Revoked

If you receive a traffic ticket for a moving violation, points will be added to your driving record. Your driver’s license will be suspended or revoked if you accumulate too many points on your driving record within a certain period of time:  12 points within 12 months will cause your license to be revoked for 1 year; 8 points within 18 months will cause your license to be suspended for 30 days, if it’s your first suspension.

For more information, go to this page about driver’s license points and how long points stay on your driving record.

Hire an Attorney To Fight Your Speeding Ticket If It’s a Moving Violation 

For “regular” speeding tickets that are moving violations causing points to be added to your driving record, you can hire a traffic law attorney to get the ticket amended to a non-moving, no-point infraction.

If the ticket is already a no-point, non-moving violation, such as a speed camera ticket or a red-light camera ticket, then my usual recommendation is to pay the fine, thus avoiding the added expense of a trial.

(This blog post was updated on February 14, 2013.)

 

 

Missouri Traffic Ticket Points

How Many Points Are Added to Your Driving Record for Traffic Tickets in Missouri?

Most Missouri speeding tickets issued by a city or county police officer will cause 2 points to be added to your driving record. If your ticket was issued by a Missouri State Highway Patrol officer, 3 points will be added to your driving record for the traffic violation. A ticket for “No Insurance” will cause 4 points to be added to your driving record. “Driving While Suspended or Revoked” will cause 12 points to be added to your driving record, and your license will be revoked for 1 year.

See this link to the Missouri Department of Revenue website that shows how many points will be added to your driving record for Missouri traffic tickets involving speeding, DWI, careless and imprudent driving, stop sign violations, and many other common traffic offenses.

Too Many Points Will Cause Your License to be Revoked or Suspended

If you accumulate too many points on your driving record within a certain period of time, your license will be revoked or suspended, so it’s important to keep track of the number of points you have on your driving record. The speeding conviction will stay on your driving record for 3 years, but the points count toward a suspension for only 18 months, so it’s also important to keep track of how long a speeding ticket conviction has been on your driving record.

See this page on my website about how to keep points off your driving record.

How to Get Old Speeding Tickets Removed From Your Driving Record

Once a year, the Missouri Department of Revenue (DOR) purges driving records of all traffic tickets that are 3 years old or older. You can call the DOR at (573) 751-4475 anytime and ask them to remove all of your old speeding tickets from your driving record.


If you want to keep points off your driving record, call St. Louis traffic law attorney Andrea Storey Rogers at (314) 724-5059 or email her at andrea@leadfootspeedingticket.com to get a price quote for legal representation. Andrea handles traffic tickets in the St. Louis area and in most counties throughout Missouri.

Some Missouri Courts Dismiss “No Insurance” Traffic Tickets if You Buy Insurance

Most courts in the St. Louis, Missouri area will dismiss a “No Insurance” ticket if you later provide proof that the car you were driving was insured at the time the police officer pulled you over, or that you purchased auto insurance afterward. You may also have to pay court costs, which can range anywhere from $25 to $60, depending on the court. (A ticket for “No Insurance” is the same as a ticket for “Failure to Maintain Financial Responsibility.”)

A “No Insurance” Traffic Ticket Causes 4 Points to be Added to Your Missouri Driving Record and It Remains on Your Driving Record Permanently

If you are unable to get a “No Insurance” traffic ticket dismissed or amended to a lesser charge, then you will have to pay the fine for the ticket and 4 points will be added to your Missouri driving record. If you accumulate 12 points within 12 months, your Missouri driver’s license will be revoked for 1 year. If you accumulate 8 points within 18 months, your driver’s license will be suspended for 30 days, if it’s your first suspension.

In addition, a conviction for “No Insurance” will stay on your Missouri driving record forever and will never be eligible for removal. In this previous blog post, I list other types of tickets that remain permanently on your driving record.

You Can Get a “No Insurance” or “Failure to Maintain Financial Responsibility” Traffic Ticket Dismissed Without Hiring a Lawyer in Most Courts in the St. Louis, Missouri Area

Some courts in the St. Louis, Missouri area will allow you to bring proof of insurance to the court clerk’s office prior to the court date, so you don’t have to appear in court. Other courts require that you go to court on the court date and show proof of insurance to the judge before the court will dismiss a “No Insurance” or “No Proof of Insurance” traffic ticket.

Whether you had insurance when the police officer pulled you over, or if you purchased insurance after the traffic stop, some Missouri courts will not allow you to request a dismissal of a “No Insurance” ticket on your own, without the assistance of an attorney. (Call the court clerk’s office ahead of time to find out.) If that is the case, you will have to hire an attorney to file a pleading and provide proof of insurance on your behalf before the prosecuting attorney will consider negotiating a plea bargain to have your “No Insurance” ticket amended or dismissed.

Procedures for Handling “No Insurance” Tickets in Some Municipal Courts in the St. Louis, Missouri Area   

In St. Louis County Municipal Court (North Division) in Hazelwood, Missouri, if you receive a traffic ticket for “No Insurance” and you did not have insurance at the time of the traffic stop, you can appear in court and ask the judge to allow you to take a driving class to get rid of the “No Insurance” ticket. You will need to buy car insurance prior to the court date so you can show proof of insurance to the judge.

In St. Louis City Municipal Court, if you receive a “No Insurance” traffic ticket and you purchased car insurance after receiving the ticket, then you can appear in court on the court date and show the judge your proof of insurance, and the judge will dismiss the ticket upon payment of court costs of $50.50. If you actually had insurance at the time of the traffic stop but you didn’t have proof of insurance with you, then bring your current insurance card to court on your court date and show it to the judge, and the judge will probably dismiss the “No Insurance” ticket, sometimes without payment of court costs.

In Ballwin Municipal Court in Ballwin, Missouri, the fine for a “No Insurance” traffic ticket is $175. If you had insurance at the time the police officer pulled you over, and there was no accident involved, then you can bring proof of insurance to the court clerk’s office and they will dismiss your “No Insurance” ticket upon payment of court costs. If you did not have insurance at the time you were pulled over but you purchased insurance afterward, then you can hire an attorney to negotiate a plea bargain with the Court to have your “No Insurance” ticket amended or dismissed. You can not bring proof of insurance to court on your own and expect the judge to dismiss your ticket if you did not have insurance at the time of the traffic stop.

In St. Ann Municipal Court in St. Ann, Missouri, the fine for a “No Insurance” ticket is $151. If you did not have insurance when you received the ticket, but afterward you purchased at least 3 months’ worth of car insurance, then you can show proof of insurance to the court and your “No Insurance” ticket will be dismissed with a fine of $101. If you did have insurance and can provide proof that your car was insured on the date the ticket was issued, then the court will dismiss the ticket upon payment of $26.50 in court costs.

In St. Peters Municipal Court in St. Peters, Missouri, if you buy insurance after you receive a “No Insurance” ticket, your attorney can negotiate a plea bargain with the prosecutor to have your ticket amended or dismissed. The total fine and court costs will be approximately $375 and no points will be added to your driving record. If you did not have insurance at the time of the traffic stop and you are unable to purchase insurance now, then you must appear in court on your court date. At that time, the judge will determine the amount of the fine that you owe plus court costs, and 4 points will be added to your Missouri driving record.

In Florissant Municipal Court in Florissant, Missouri, if you receive a traffic ticket for “No Insurance” but you had insurance on the date you received the ticket, you can bring proof of insurance to court and the judge will dismiss the ticket upon payment of court costs of $26.50. If you did not have insurance when the police officer pulled you over, you can purchase insurance afterward and bring proof to the court clerk’s office prior to the court date and pay a $125 fine. If you did not have insurance when you received a “No Insurance” ticket and you are unable to purchase insurance afterward, then you must appear in court on your court date, at which time the judge will assess your fine, but no points will be reported to the Missouri Department of Revenue. Unlike most municipal courts in the St. Louis area, Florissant Municipal Court does not report points to the Missouri Department of Revenue for “No Insurance” traffic tickets.

In University City Municipal Court in University City, Missouri, the court will not allow you to request a dismissal of a “No Insurance” ticket on your own, without the assistance of an attorney.  Therefore, you must hire an attorney to file a pleading and provide proof of insurance on your behalf before the prosecuting attorney will consider dismissing your “No Insurance” ticket.

Your Driver’s License Will be Suspended if You Cause a Car Accident While Driving Without Insurance

If you cause a car accident while driving a vehicle that is not insured, your driver’s license will be suspended. For more information, see this page of the Missouri Department of Revenue’s website regarding the consequences of a conviction for driving without insurance.

The offense of “No Insurance” or “Failure to Maintain Financial Responsibility” is a misdemeanor and is punishable by imprisonment in the county jail for a term not to exceed 15 days and/or a fine not to exceed $300. This link takes you to the Missouri law that prohibits driving without insurance.

An Attorney May be Able to Withdraw Your Guilty Plea for a “No Insurance” Ticket and Cancel the Suspension of Your Driver’s License

If you have already pleaded guilty to a “No Insurance” traffic ticket in Missouri, it is possible to hire an attorney to withdraw your guilty plea and negotiate a plea bargain with the prosecuting attorney to have your ticket dismissed or amended. If the “No Insurance” ticket is dismissed or amended to a no-point infraction, then those 4 points that were added to your driving record for the “No Insurance” ticket will be removed. If your driver’s license was suspended because of too many points, then the removal of those 4 points may be enough to cause the suspension to be cancelled or “lifted.”

You will have to provide your attorney with proof that you have purchased auto insurance, and you must act quickly; most courts will not allow the withdrawal of a guilty plea if too much time has passed since your guilty plea, or if you were represented by an attorney when you pleaded guilty.

For more information regarding Missouri traffic law, see my traffic law resources page for links to information regarding Missouri speeding tickets, points, Missouri driver’s licenses, courts, and other traffic-related issues.