How to Remove Points From Your Driving Record

To remove points from your driving record, you can hire a speeding ticket lawyer to get your ticket fixed, or you can attend traffic school.

Hire a Traffic Ticket Lawyer to Remove Points From Your Driving Record

When you get a speeding ticket or other traffic violation in Missouri, you can hire a traffic ticket lawyer to get your ticket reduced to a non-moving, no-point infraction. Some people call this “getting a speeding ticket fixed.”

Or you can just plead guilty and pay the fine. However, when you plead guilty to a speeding ticket, points are added to your driving record and your insurance company may increase your car insurance rates.

Your Driver’s License Will be Suspended if You Have Too Many Points On Your Driving Record

Some drivers don’t hire a traffic ticket lawyer until after they have accumulated so many points on their driving record that their license is in danger of being suspended.

  • If you accumulate 8 points within 18 months, your Missouri driver’s license will be suspended for 30 days, if it’s your first suspension.
  • Your driver’s license will be revoked for 1 year if you accumulate 12 points within 12 months.

How Much Does It Cost To Hire a Speeding Ticket Lawyer to Get Your Ticket Reduced?

A speeding ticket lawyer’s price to fix your ticket depends on the following factors:

  • How fast were you driving?
  • How many other speeding convictions are on your driving record?
  • Which court is your case being prosecuted in? (The court name and address are listed on your ticket.)

Most speeding ticket lawyers charge a one-time flat-fee price to get your ticket reduced to a non-moving, no-point infraction such as “Illegal Parking.”

An experienced traffic law attorney can give you a price quote over the phone, along with an estimate of the fine and court costs. The fine (after getting your ticket reduced to a non-moving, no-point infraction) will be slightly higher than the original fine.

You won’t have to appear in court, and the court will give you at least 30 days to pay the fine and court costs.

A Speeding Ticket Lawyer Can Lift the Suspension of Your Driver’s License

If you have already pleaded guilty to a ticket that caused your license to be suspended or revoked, a traffic law attorney can withdraw your guilty plea and get your old ticket reduced to a non-moving, no-point violation. Removing the old ticket will reduce the number of points on your driving record, which will lift the suspension of your driver’s license.

You can call the Missouri Department of Revenue in Jefferson City, Missouri at (573) 751-4475 to ask if your license is suspended and find out how many points you have on your driving record.

How to Withdraw Your Guilty Plea For an Old Speeding Ticket

If you have an old speeding ticket that you pleaded guilty to without consulting an attorney beforehand, you can hire an attorney to withdraw your guilty plea and get the ticket reduced to a non-moving, no-point violation.

Withdrawing your plea and getting the ticket reduced will remove points from your driving record, which will lift the suspension of your driver’s license if you have accumulated too many points on your driving record.

PLEASE NOTE:  It is more difficult to withdraw a guilty plea if too much time has passed since you pleaded guilty, or if you were represented by an attorney when you pleaded guilty.

You Can Take the Missouri Driver Improvement Program To Remove Points From Your Driving Record

Another way to remove points from your driving record is to take the Missouri Driver Improvement Program (DIP) traffic school.

The Missouri DIP traffic school removes points from your driving record after you have pleaded guilty to a speeding ticket or other traffic violation.

Most people hire a traffic ticket lawyer before the court date to get their speeding ticket reduced to a non-moving, no-point violation. But if that is not an option because your ticket was issued in a county that does not allow tickets to be reduced, or because you got a ticket for a very high speed (or other traffic violation) that the court refuses to reduce, the Missouri DIP class may be an option.

What You Need to Know Before Taking the Driver Improvement Program

Before taking the Missouri DIP class, you must get the judge’s permission. Some courts automatically grant permission, while other courts require the defendant to appear in person to ask the judge for permission to take the DIP class.

You must complete the DIP class within 60 days after pleading guilty to your speeding ticket.

After you complete the DIP class, fax proof of completion to the Missouri Department of Revenue (DOR) in Jefferson City, Missouri and they will remove the points from your driving record. The DOR may not accept proof of completion of the DIP class if you don’t get the judge’s permission prior to taking the class.

Here are some other important tips you should know before taking the DIP class:

  • You are not eligible to take the DIP class if you have taken it within the past 3 years.
  • You are not eligible to take the DIP class if you have a Commercial Driver’s License (CDL).
  • You are not eligible to take the DIP class if the traffic violation was committed while driving a commercial motor vehicle.
  • Taking the DIP class removes points from your driving record but your insurance company will still be able to see the speeding ticket on your driving record, so they may use that as an excuse to increase your car insurance rates.

 

For more information about removing points from your Missouri driving record, read my previous blog post “How to Get a Speeding Ticket Reduced to a Non-Moving Violation in Missouri.” 


If you have a Missouri speeding ticket that you want to get reduced to a non-moving, no-point violation, call Missouri traffic law attorney Andrea Storey Rogers at (314) 724-5059 for a price quote and an estimate of your fine and court costs. Or email Andrea at andrea@leadfootspeedingticket.com

 

Get Your St. Louis Speeding Ticket Reduced to a Non-Moving Violation

A traffic ticket lawyer can get your St. Louis speeding ticket reduced to a non-moving, no-point violation to avoid points being added to your driving record and an increase in your car insurance rates.

Don’t Plead Guilty to Speeding in St. Louis

If you plead guilty to speeding in St. Louis, points will be added to your driving record, and your car insurance rates may increase.

Instead of pleading guilty, you can hire a traffic law attorney to represent you. Your attorney will negotiate a plea bargain deal with the Prosecutor to get your ticket reduced to a non-moving, no-point violation such as “Illegal Parking.” The Prosecutor will require you to pay fine that is slightly higher than the original fine, plus court costs. You won’t have to appear in court, and the court will give you at least 30 days to pay the fine and court costs.

As soon as the court receives your payment, your ticket will be reduced to a non-moving, no-point violation. This means no points will be added to your driving record, and your insurance company will never know you got the ticket.

Too Many Points on Your Driving Record Will Cause Your License to be Suspended

When you receive a speeding ticket, it is tempting to just pay the fine and forget about it. However, if you pay the fine, that means you are pleading guilty to speeding. That guilty plea will cause points to be added to your driving record and may also cause your car insurance rates to increase.

For a typical speeding ticket issued by a Missouri State Trooper, 3 points are added to your driving record. For “Driving Without Insurance,” 4 points are added. Standard traffic violations such as running a stop sign or improperly changing lanes are typically 2-point violations.

If you accumulate 8 points on your Missouri driving record within 18 months, your driver’s license will be suspended for 30 days (if it’s your first suspension). Your license will be revoked for 1 year if you accumulate 12 points within 12 months.

You Can Change Your Mind After Pleading Guilty to a St. Louis Speeding Ticket

Many people plead guilty and pay the fine for a speeding ticket and later wish they could change their mind. An experienced traffic law attorney can help you by withdrawing your guilty plea and getting your ticket reduced to a non-moving, no-point violation that won’t affect your driving record or car insurance rates.

It is much easier to withdraw your guilty plea if you 1) did not have an attorney representing you when you pleaded guilty, and 2) not much time has passed since your guilty plea.

If you have pleaded guilty and want to withdraw your plea, consult an experienced attorney to get a price quote for legal representation and an estimate of the fines and court costs you will pay.

How to Remove Points From Your Driving Record After Pleading Guilty to a Speeding Ticket

If your ticket was issued in a county where the Prosecutor won’t reduce your ticket to a non-moving, no-point violation, you may be able to take the Missouri Driver Improvement Program (DIP) to remove the points from your driving record.

You are eligible to take the DIP class if you have not taken it within the past 3 years. You are not eligible to take the DIP class if you have a Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) or if the traffic violation was committed while driving a commercial motor vehicle. You must obtain the judge’s permission to take the DIP class, and you must complete the DIP class within 60 days after pleading guilty.

Read my previous blog post “Missouri Driving School Removes Points From Record” for more information about the Missouri DIP class.

PLEASE NOTE:  If you complete the DIP class, points will be removed from your Missouri driving record, but the speeding conviction will still show up on your driving record, and your insurance company may increase your rates.

For more information, read my previous blog post “How to Get a Speeding Ticket Reduced to a Non-Moving Violation in Missouri.”


To get your St. Louis speeding ticket reduced to a non-moving, no-point violation that won’t affect your driving record or insurance rates, call traffic law attorney Andrea Storey Rogers at (314) 724-5059 for a price quote and estimate of your fine and court costs. Or email Andrea at andrea@leadfootspeedingticket.com

 

Missouri Driving School Removes Points From Record

If you complete the Missouri Driver Improvement Program traffic school within 60 days of pleading guilty to a speeding ticket, the points associated with that ticket will be removed from your driving record.

What is the Missouri Driver Improvement Program (DIP)?

The Missouri Driver Improvement Program (DIP) is traffic school that you can take to remove points from your driving record. Here are a few important facts about the Missouri DIP class:

  • You must take the Missouri DIP class within 60 days after you plead guilty to a speeding ticket.
  • If you have taken the Missouri DIP class within the past 3 years, you are not eligible.
  • You must get the court’s approval before taking the DIP class.
  • You must fax proof of completion of the DIP class to the Missouri Dept. of Revenue.

Many courts automatically give defendants their approval to take the DIP driving school, but some courts require you to go to court and ask the judge for permission. If you don’t want to go to court yourself, you can hire an attorney to go to court for you and ask for permission to take the DIP class.

If you don’t have the court’s approval to take the Missouri DIP class, the Missouri Dept. of Revenue will not accept your proof of completion of the class.

Take the DIP Traffic School if You Can’t Get Your Ticket Reduced to a Non-Moving Violation

The courts in most Missouri counties allow speeding tickets to be reduced to non-moving, no-point violations in exchange for paying a higher fine plus court costs. In those counties, drivers can hire a traffic ticket lawyer to get their speeding ticket amended to “Illegal Parking” or some other non-moving, no-point violation that won’t affect their driving record or insurance rates.

Unfortunately, some courts in Missouri refuse to reduce speeding tickets to non-moving violations. In that case, the driver’s only option is to either hire a traffic law attorney to negotiate a plea bargain deal that includes probation, or just plead guilty on your own without an attorney representing you.

If you decide to plead guilty to a Missouri speeding ticket, points will be added to your driving record and your car insurance rates may increase. The DIP program allows drivers to get the points removed from their driving record after pleading guilty.

The Missouri DIP Driver Improvement Program Will Not Keep the Ticket Off Your Driving Record

PLEASE NOTE:  If you take the Missouri DIP driving school class, points will be removed from your driving record. However, taking the DIP class does not prevent the ticket from showing up on your driving record and possibly causing your car insurance rates to increase.

Therefore, if at all possible, I strongly recommend hiring a traffic ticket lawyer to get your ticket reduced to a non-moving, no-point violation that won’t affect your driving record or car insurance rates.

Speeding Tickets Cause Points to be Added to Your Driving Record

In Missouri (and many other states), points are added to your driving record when you plead guilty or are convicted of a traffic violation, such as speeding, driving without insurance, driving without a license, driving while suspended, leaving the scene of an accident, careless & imprudent driving, running a stop sign, etc.

Most standard speeding tickets issued by Missouri municipal police officers are 2-point tickets, and most speeding tickets issued by Missouri State Highway Patrol officers are 3-point tickets.

If you accumulate 8 points within 18 months, your Missouri driver’s license will be suspended. Your license will be revoked for 1 year if you accumulate 12 points within 12 months.

Speeding Tickets Can Cause Your Car Insurance Rates to Increase

It is common knowledge that a speeding ticket conviction on your driving record can cause your car insurance rates to increase.

If you are having a hard time deciding whether to hire a traffic law attorney to represent you or just plead guilty, you can call your insurance agent and ask how much your car insurance rates will increase if you plead guilty to the speeding ticket. Then you can compare that amount with the price of hiring a traffic ticket lawyer to get your ticket “fixed” (reduced to a non-moving, no-point violation).

How to Withdraw Your Guilty Plea

In many cases, you can change your mind after pleading guilty to a traffic ticket or other criminal offense.

If you did not have an attorney representing you, and not much time has passed since you pleaded guilty, you may be able to withdraw your plea and get the ticket reduced to a non-moving violation, or get the criminal charge reduced to a lesser offense.

Consult an attorney to get an estimate of the probable outcome of your case.

For more information about the Missouri Driver Improvement Program, read my previous blog post “DIP Class Won’t Keep Tickets Off Driving Record.”


To get your Missouri speeding ticket reduced to a non-moving, no-point violation that won’t affect your driving record or insurance rates, call St. Louis traffic law attorney Andrea Storey Rogers at (314) 724-5059 for a price quote and estimate of your fine and court costs. Or email Andrea at andrea@leadfootspeedingticket.com

 

How To Clean Up Your Driving Record in Missouri

Call St. Louis traffic law attorney Andrea Storey Rogers today at (314) 724-5059 to clean up your Missouri driving record.

Withdraw Your Guilty Plea To Get a Clean Driving Record

When you plead guilty to a speeding ticket, three things happen:

  1. A conviction shows up on your driving record.
  2. Points are added to your driving record.
  3. Your insurance rates will probably increase.

If you accumulate too many points on your driving record, your license will be suspended or revoked.

Many defendants have hired me to withdraw their plea because their license has been suspended for having too many points on their driving record and they need to get those points removed from their record. Often, people don’t realize how many points they have on their driving record until they receive a warning from the state that their license is about to be suspended or revoked.

Some people hire me to withdraw their guilty plea and get their ticket reduced to a no-point violation because they have been offered a job that requires that they have a clean driving record.

Regardless of the reason, if you want to clean up your driving record and remove points, you will need to hire an experienced traffic law attorney to withdraw your guilty plea.

How to Withdraw Your Guilty Plea For a Speeding Ticket 

First, your attorney will file a motion with the court to withdraw your guilty plea.

Next, if the judge approves the motion to withdraw your guilty plea, your attorney will then work out a deal with the Prosecutor to reduce your speeding ticket to a non-moving no-point violation that won’t affect your driving record or insurance rates.

In many cases, the attorney can take care of everything without the defendant having to appear in court.

Please Note:  It is much more difficult, if not impossible, to withdraw your guilty plea if you were represented by an attorney when you originally pleaded guilty, or if too much time has passed since your guilty plea.

Withdrawing Your Plea Removes Points From Your Driving Record

After your attorney withdraws your guilty plea and reduces your speeding ticket to a non-moving, no-point violation, the court will require you to pay the difference between the original fine you already paid and the new fine assessed by the Prosecutor.

Then the points for the original speeding ticket will be removed from your driving record and there will be no conviction on your driving record.

Withdrawing Your Guilty Plea Can Lift Your Driver’s License Suspension

If your driver’s license was suspended because you accumulated too many points on your driving record, withdrawing your guilty plea and getting your ticket reduced to a no-point violation will clean up your record and lift your suspension. 

You Can Also Withdraw Your Guilty Plea For a Criminal Offense

If you pleaded guilty in the past to a criminal offense and you have now changed your mind about your plea, you can withdraw your guilty plea and hire an attorney to negotiate a plea bargain with the Prosecutor to get your criminal charge dismissed or reduced to a lesser offense.

Click here to read my previous blog post about how to withdraw your guilty plea for a criminal offense, such as marijuana possession, drug paraphernalia, or shoplifting.


To withdraw your guilty plea and clean up your driving record, call St. Louis attorney Andrea Storey Rogers at (314) 724-5059 for a flat-fee price quote for legal representation. Or email Andrea at andrea@leadfootspeedingticket.com

How to Withdraw Your Guilty Plea

Call St. Louis attorney Andrea Storey Rogers today at (314) 724-5059 about withdrawing your guilty plea for a Missouri speeding ticket or criminal charge.

You Can Change Your Mind After Pleading Guilty

It is possible to change your mind after pleading guilty to a speeding ticket or criminal offense such as marijuana possession or shoplifting if you were not represented by an attorney when you pleaded guilty.

Withdrawing a Guilty Plea Can Remove Points From Your Driving Record

Withdrawing your guilty plea for a speeding ticket or other traffic violation will remove the points that were added to your Missouri driving record when you paid the fine.

Some people need points removed so a license suspension can be lifted, while others want points removed to prevent an increase in their car insurance rates

Get a Conviction Off Your Criminal Record by Withdrawing Your Guilty Plea 

Anyone who pleads guilty to a minor criminal offense, such as marijuana possession, drug paraphernalia, or stealing, quickly realizes that the conviction shows up on their criminal background report. Even a minor criminal conviction can prevent you from getting a job, renting an apartment, or getting financial aid for school.

In many cases, an experienced attorney can withdraw the guilty plea and negotiate a plea bargain deal with the Prosecutor to get your criminal charge dismissed or reduced to a lesser offense, such as “Littering.” Having a conviction for “Littering” on your criminal record is much better than a conviction for drug possession or stealing.

How to Withdraw Your Guilty Plea

Hire an experienced attorney to help you withdraw your guilty plea. Your attorney will file a motion with the court to request that the judge allow you to withdraw your guilty plea.

If the judge agrees to let you change your plea, then your attorney will  negotiate a plea bargain deal with the Prosecutor to get your traffic ticket amended to a non-moving no-point violation.

Or, if you are withdrawing a guilty plea for a criminal offense, your attorney will negotiate with the Prosecutor to get your criminal charges dismissed or amended to a lesser offense.

In many cases of withdrawing a guilty plea, the defendant does not have to appear in court at all.

What Happens After You Withdraw Your Guilty Plea?

Once your attorney successfully withdraws your guilty plea and negotiates a plea bargain deal with the Prosecutor, a new fine will be assessed by the Prosecutor. The new fine will be higher than the fine you already paid. The court will subtract the amount you already paid from the new higher fine and you will pay the difference.

Then the court will revise the court records to remove the original conviction from your record. So, if you originally pleaded guilty to marijuana possession but your attorney was able to change your plea and get the charge amended to “Littering,” your criminal record will now show that you have a conviction for “Littering.”

If you originally pleaded guilty to speeding and your attorney withdrew your guilty plea and got your ticket amended to “Illegal Parking,” the points will be removed from your driving record and there will be no conviction on your record.


To change your plea or withdraw your guilty plea for a traffic ticket or criminal offense, call St. Louis attorney Andrea Storey Rogers at (314) 724-5059 to discuss your case and get a price quote for legal representation. Or email Andrea at andrea@leadfootspeedingticket.com

How to Remove Points From License After Paying Fine

Call St. Louis traffic law attorney Andrea Storey Rogers today at (314) 724-5059 about your Missouri speeding ticket or other traffic violation.

You can get speeding ticket points removed from your driving record even though you already pleaded guilty and paid the fine.

You Can Change Your Mind After Pleading Guilty

When you pay a speeding ticket fine, you are pleading guilty to a traffic violation. Points are added to your driving record for the violation, and if you accumulate too many points, your driver’s license will be suspended or revoked.

It’s not too late to hire a lawyer to remove old speeding ticket points from your driver’s license if:

    • You paid a speeding ticket fine but changed your mind and want to hire a lawyer to get your ticket reduced to a non-moving, no-point violation, or
    • You paid a speeding ticket fine without realizing the points for that ticket will cause your license to be suspended, and you want to hire a lawyer to get your ticket reduced to a non-moving violation.

Removal of Points Can Cancel the License Suspension

In both situations listed above, an attorney can withdraw your guilty plea and get your speeding ticket reduced to a non-moving, no-point violation. After your ticket is reduced, the Missouri Department of Revenue will remove the points from your driving record that were added when you originally paid the fine. If your license was suspended because of the added points, removal of those points will cancel the suspension.

PLEASE NOTE:  Withdrawing a guilty plea is much more difficult if you were represented by an attorney when you pleaded guilty, or if too much time has passed since the conviction date.

How to Withdraw Your Guilty Plea For a Speeding Ticket

To withdraw your guilty plea, you will need to hire an experienced traffic law attorney to file the proper motion in court. If the judge approves the motion and allows you to withdraw your guilty plea, your attorney can negotiate a plea bargain deal with the prosecutor to get your ticket reduced to a non-moving, no-point violation.

Your Fine Will be Higher After Your Ticket is Reduced to a Non-Moving Violation

Most courts charge higher fines if they agree to reduce a traffic ticket to a non-moving, no-point violation. After your attorney gets your guilty plea withdrawn and your ticket reduced to a non-moving, no-point violation, the prosecutor will assess a new fine that will be higher than the fine you already paid. You will be required to pay the difference between the original fine and the new, higher fine.

The Driver Improvement Program Won’t Keep Tickets Off Your Driving Record

You may have heard that you can get points removed from your license if you take the Driver Improvement Program (DIP). This is true in many Missouri courts, but the DIP class won’t prevent the ticket from being reported on your driving record and possibly causing your car insurance rates to increase.

If you take the DIP class instead of hiring a traffic law attorney to get your ticket reduced to a non-moving, no-point violation, the points will be removed after you pay the fine. However, the speeding ticket will show up on your driving record, and your insurance company will see it the next time they review your driving record.

For more information, click here to read my previous blog post about how to remove points from your license by completing the Missouri Driver Improvement Program.


To withdraw your guilty plea and remove points from your license after you have paid a speeding ticket fine, call St. Louis traffic law attorney Andrea Storey Rogers at (314) 724-5059 for a price quote and estimate of your fine and court costs. Or email Andrea at andrea@leadfootspeedingticket.com or at info@leadfootspeedingticket.com

Traffic School Keeps Points Off Missouri Driving Record

Traffic school keeps points off your Missouri driving record and can prevent your driver’s license from being suspended, but the speeding ticket conviction will still show up on your driving record.

Your Driver’s License Will be Suspended if You Have Too Many Points

If you accumulate too many points on your driving record, your Missouri driver’s license will be suspended or revoked. A speeding ticket is a moving violation that causes 2 points to be added to your driving record if the ticket was issued by a city or county police officer. 3 points are added if the ticket was issued by a Missouri State Highway Patrol officer.

If you accumulate 8 points on your Missouri driving record within 18 months, your driver’s license will be suspended for 30 days, if it’s your first suspension. If it’s your second suspension, then your driving privileges will be suspended for 60 days; for a third suspension, your license will be suspended for 90 days. Your license will be revoked for 1 year if you accumulate 12 points within 12 months, 18 points within 24 months, or 24 points within 36 months.

Out-of-state speeding tickets are also reported to your home state of Missouri and points are added to your driving record, just as if you received those traffic tickets in Missouri. See my previous blog post about how out-of-state speeding tickets affect your Missouri driver’s license.

Traffic School Can Prevent Your Missouri Driver’s License From Being Suspended 

The Driver Improvement Program (DIP) is a statewide traffic school program, presented in cooperation with the Missouri Division of Highway Safety and the Missouri Department of Transportation, that drivers can attend to reduce the points on their Missouri driver’s licenses. Some people refer to this as “Traffic School,” “Driving School,” or “Defensive Driving Class.” If you search online, you will find many Missouri traffic schools that offer classes, both online and in person.

If your Missouri driver’s license is about to be suspended because of too many points, attending traffic school can prevent the suspension by reducing the amount of points that will be added to your driving record.

Your Speeding Ticket Will Not be Dismissed if You Attend Traffic School, But No Points Will be Added to Your Missouri Driving Record

After successfully completing traffic school, your speeding ticket will not be dismissed (it will still show up on your Missouri driving record), but no points will be added to your driving record. If you are pulled over for a traffic violation, the police officer will see the no-point speeding conviction on your driving record. And an insurance agent will be able to see the speeding ticket when he reviews your driving record before giving you a price quote for car insurance.

What You Need to Know Before Attending a Missouri Traffic School

Before attending a Missouri traffic school or taking an online driving school class, here are a few things you need to know:

  • Prior to attending a Missouri traffic school, you must plead guilty to the moving violation and pay the fine and court costs to the court. The traffic ticket will be reported to the Missouri Department of Revenue (DOR), but no points will be added to your driving record at that time.
  • You have 60 days from the date you pleaded guilty to complete driving school. After successful completion of the driving class, the traffic school will send a certificate to the DOR, proving that you completed the class. Then your speeding ticket will be reported on your driving record, but no points will be assessed for it.
  • Traffic school is an 8-hour class and can be taken online or in person. (Many people complete the class in less than 8 hours.)
  • You are allowed to attend traffic school to avoid point assessment only once every 36 months.
  • You must contact the court that issued the speeding ticket to confirm that they will allow you to attend traffic school.
  • Many courts (for example, municipal courts located in St. Louis County) require that you go to court and ask the judge for permission to attend traffic school.
  • Call the DOR to confirm that the court has notified the DOR that the court is allowing you to attend traffic school.
  • Confirm that the traffic school or driving class is approved by the Missouri Safety Center.
  • For violations committed while operating a motorcycle, the driver must attend an approved motorcycle-rider training course.
  • If your driver’s license was issued by a state other than Missouri, attending traffic school in Missouri may not help you. Check with your home state to determine how it will treat a speeding ticket received in Missouri, and find out if you can attend traffic school in your home state.
  • Traffic school is not available for drivers who commit a traffic violation while driving a commercial motor vehicle, or for any driver who has a commercial driver’s license (CDL) from Missouri or any other state.
  • Prices for Missouri traffic school range from $20 to $35, depending on the court and the county. Many websites advertise that they offer online traffic schools.

FCC Speeding Ticket Points Can be Removed From Your Driving Record if You Attend a Missouri Traffic School

If a Missouri State Highway Patrol officer (a state trooper) pulls you over and issues a speeding ticket to you, most likely the ticket will have “FCC” or “Fine Collection Center” written on it, and instead of a court date, it will state, “Due in 30 Days”. That is called an FCC speeding ticket. If you have received an FCC ticket, you may be able to attend a Missouri traffic school to keep the points from being added to your driving record, if the county in which you received the ticket allows it. You will have to plead guilty and pay the fine and court costs to the FCC before taking the traffic school class.

Courts in the following Missouri counties allow drivers who receive FCC speeding tickets to attend traffic school to prevent points from being added to their driving records: Adair, Andrew, Atchison, Audrain, Barton, Bollinger, Boone, Buchanan, Butler, Callaway, Cape Girardeau, Cass, Clay, Clinton, Cole, Cooper, Dade, Daviess, Franklin, Gasconade, Greene, Grundy, Harrison, Hickory, Holt, Howell, Lewis, Lincoln, Livingston, Macon, Madison, Marion, McDonald, Miller, Nodaway, Oregon, Osage, Pemiscot, Perry, Pike, Platte, Putnam, Reynolds, Ripley, Saline, Schuyler, Scott, Shannon, Shelby, St. Clair, Ste. Genevieve, Sullivan, Vernon, Wayne, Worth, and Wright.  

For more information, go to the website for the Missouri Fine Collection Center or call them at (877) 866-3926.

For All Other Missouri Speeding Tickets, Get Approval From the Court Before You Attend Traffic School

If you receive a regular (non-FCC) speeding ticket in a county not listed above, such as St. Louis City or St. Louis County, you may still be able to attend traffic school to reduce the points on your Missouri driving record, but you will have to get the court’s approval first. Contact the court that issued the ticket and ask how you can request to attend traffic school.

Most of the courts that are not on the above list require that you personally appear in court on your court date to ask the judge for permission to attend traffic school, but you should call the court clerk to confirm this before going to court.

In St. Louis County Circuit Court, you can not appear in court on your own to ask for permission from the judge to attend traffic school; you have to hire an attorney to represent you and you must appear in court with your attorney. If the judge approves your attorney’s request for traffic school, you will have to pay an additional fee that is donated to the School Fund. You can sign up for traffic school that same day while you’re at the courthouse (in the building across the street from the courthouse in Clayton), or you can enroll in a driving class offered by an online traffic school.

St. Charles County Circuit Court allows drivers to appear in court on their own (without hiring an attorney) and ask the judge for permission to attend traffic school.

In St. Louis City Municipal Court, you must come to court on your court date and ask the judge for permission to attend traffic school to keep points off your driver’s license. The judge will review your driving record and decide whether to allow you to attend traffic school. The same procedure applies to most other municipal courts in St. Louis County when requesting permission to attend traffic school. Municipal courts in St. Louis County, such as Kirkwood Municipal CourtFlorissant Municipal CourtPine Lawn Municipal Court, and Chesterfield Municipal Court all require drivers to appear in court on their court date to get approval from the judge to attend traffic school.

Even if the court that issued your speeding ticket is listed in one of the paragraphs above, you should still call the court to ask what their policy is for requesting traffic school to reduce the points on your driving record.

If the Court Does Not Offer Traffic School as an Option, You Can Hire a Lawyer to Get Your Speeding Ticket “Fixed”

If you plead guilty or are convicted of a speeding ticket in Missouri, points are added to your driving record and the speeding ticket conviction appears on your driving record. As noted previously, if you accumulate too many points within a certain period of time, your Missouri driver’s license will be suspended or revoked.

If you don’t want to attend traffic school to remove the points from your driving record, or if traffic school is not allowed in the county in which you received your speeding ticket, you can hire a traffic law attorney to negotiate a plea bargain with the court to have your speeding ticket amended to a non-moving, no-point infraction. (This is sometimes called getting a ticket “fixed.”) You will pay a higher fine after the ticket is amended, plus court costs, but no points will be added to your driving record, and there will be no record of a speeding ticket conviction on your Missouri driver’s license. 

Locations of Missouri Traffic Schools 

Click here for a list of online traffic schools approved by the Missouri Safety Center.

To find out more about how traffic school can keep points off your Missouri driver’s license record, click on the Missouri Driver Improvement Program page on the Missouri Courts website.

For more information about Missouri traffic law, points, and Missouri court information, click on the Traffic Law Resources page of my website.

Some Missouri Courts Dismiss “No Insurance” Traffic Tickets if You Buy Insurance

Most courts in the St. Louis, Missouri area will dismiss a “No Insurance” ticket if you later provide proof that the car you were driving was insured at the time the police officer pulled you over, or that you purchased auto insurance afterward. You may also have to pay court costs, which can range anywhere from $25 to $60, depending on the court. (A ticket for “No Insurance” is the same as a ticket for “Failure to Maintain Financial Responsibility.”)

A “No Insurance” Traffic Ticket Causes 4 Points to be Added to Your Missouri Driving Record and It Remains on Your Driving Record Permanently

If you are unable to get a “No Insurance” traffic ticket dismissed or amended to a lesser charge, then you will have to pay the fine for the ticket and 4 points will be added to your Missouri driving record. If you accumulate 12 points within 12 months, your Missouri driver’s license will be revoked for 1 year. If you accumulate 8 points within 18 months, your driver’s license will be suspended for 30 days, if it’s your first suspension.

In addition, a conviction for “No Insurance” will stay on your Missouri driving record forever and will never be eligible for removal. In this previous blog post, I list other types of tickets that remain permanently on your driving record.

You Can Get a “No Insurance” or “Failure to Maintain Financial Responsibility” Traffic Ticket Dismissed Without Hiring a Lawyer in Most Courts in the St. Louis, Missouri Area

Some courts in the St. Louis, Missouri area will allow you to bring proof of insurance to the court clerk’s office prior to the court date, so you don’t have to appear in court. Other courts require that you go to court on the court date and show proof of insurance to the judge before the court will dismiss a “No Insurance” or “No Proof of Insurance” traffic ticket.

Whether you had insurance when the police officer pulled you over, or if you purchased insurance after the traffic stop, some Missouri courts will not allow you to request a dismissal of a “No Insurance” ticket on your own, without the assistance of an attorney. (Call the court clerk’s office ahead of time to find out.) If that is the case, you will have to hire an attorney to file a pleading and provide proof of insurance on your behalf before the prosecuting attorney will consider negotiating a plea bargain to have your “No Insurance” ticket amended or dismissed.

Procedures for Handling “No Insurance” Tickets in Some Municipal Courts in the St. Louis, Missouri Area   

In St. Louis County Municipal Court (North Division) in Hazelwood, Missouri, if you receive a traffic ticket for “No Insurance” and you did not have insurance at the time of the traffic stop, you can appear in court and ask the judge to allow you to take a driving class to get rid of the “No Insurance” ticket. You will need to buy car insurance prior to the court date so you can show proof of insurance to the judge.

In St. Louis City Municipal Court, if you receive a “No Insurance” traffic ticket and you purchased car insurance after receiving the ticket, then you can appear in court on the court date and show the judge your proof of insurance, and the judge will dismiss the ticket upon payment of court costs of $50.50. If you actually had insurance at the time of the traffic stop but you didn’t have proof of insurance with you, then bring your current insurance card to court on your court date and show it to the judge, and the judge will probably dismiss the “No Insurance” ticket, sometimes without payment of court costs.

In Ballwin Municipal Court in Ballwin, Missouri, the fine for a “No Insurance” traffic ticket is $175. If you had insurance at the time the police officer pulled you over, and there was no accident involved, then you can bring proof of insurance to the court clerk’s office and they will dismiss your “No Insurance” ticket upon payment of court costs. If you did not have insurance at the time you were pulled over but you purchased insurance afterward, then you can hire an attorney to negotiate a plea bargain with the Court to have your “No Insurance” ticket amended or dismissed. You can not bring proof of insurance to court on your own and expect the judge to dismiss your ticket if you did not have insurance at the time of the traffic stop.

In St. Ann Municipal Court in St. Ann, Missouri, the fine for a “No Insurance” ticket is $151. If you did not have insurance when you received the ticket, but afterward you purchased at least 3 months’ worth of car insurance, then you can show proof of insurance to the court and your “No Insurance” ticket will be dismissed with a fine of $101. If you did have insurance and can provide proof that your car was insured on the date the ticket was issued, then the court will dismiss the ticket upon payment of $26.50 in court costs.

In St. Peters Municipal Court in St. Peters, Missouri, if you buy insurance after you receive a “No Insurance” ticket, your attorney can negotiate a plea bargain with the prosecutor to have your ticket amended or dismissed. The total fine and court costs will be approximately $375 and no points will be added to your driving record. If you did not have insurance at the time of the traffic stop and you are unable to purchase insurance now, then you must appear in court on your court date. At that time, the judge will determine the amount of the fine that you owe plus court costs, and 4 points will be added to your Missouri driving record.

In Florissant Municipal Court in Florissant, Missouri, if you receive a traffic ticket for “No Insurance” but you had insurance on the date you received the ticket, you can bring proof of insurance to court and the judge will dismiss the ticket upon payment of court costs of $26.50. If you did not have insurance when the police officer pulled you over, you can purchase insurance afterward and bring proof to the court clerk’s office prior to the court date and pay a $125 fine. If you did not have insurance when you received a “No Insurance” ticket and you are unable to purchase insurance afterward, then you must appear in court on your court date, at which time the judge will assess your fine, but no points will be reported to the Missouri Department of Revenue. Unlike most municipal courts in the St. Louis area, Florissant Municipal Court does not report points to the Missouri Department of Revenue for “No Insurance” traffic tickets.

In University City Municipal Court in University City, Missouri, the court will not allow you to request a dismissal of a “No Insurance” ticket on your own, without the assistance of an attorney.  Therefore, you must hire an attorney to file a pleading and provide proof of insurance on your behalf before the prosecuting attorney will consider dismissing your “No Insurance” ticket.

Your Driver’s License Will be Suspended if You Cause a Car Accident While Driving Without Insurance

If you cause a car accident while driving a vehicle that is not insured, your driver’s license will be suspended. For more information, see this page of the Missouri Department of Revenue’s website regarding the consequences of a conviction for driving without insurance.

The offense of “No Insurance” or “Failure to Maintain Financial Responsibility” is a misdemeanor and is punishable by imprisonment in the county jail for a term not to exceed 15 days and/or a fine not to exceed $300. This link takes you to the Missouri law that prohibits driving without insurance.

An Attorney May be Able to Withdraw Your Guilty Plea for a “No Insurance” Ticket and Cancel the Suspension of Your Driver’s License

If you have already pleaded guilty to a “No Insurance” traffic ticket in Missouri, it is possible to hire an attorney to withdraw your guilty plea and negotiate a plea bargain with the prosecuting attorney to have your ticket dismissed or amended. If the “No Insurance” ticket is dismissed or amended to a no-point infraction, then those 4 points that were added to your driving record for the “No Insurance” ticket will be removed. If your driver’s license was suspended because of too many points, then the removal of those 4 points may be enough to cause the suspension to be cancelled or “lifted.”

You will have to provide your attorney with proof that you have purchased auto insurance, and you must act quickly; most courts will not allow the withdrawal of a guilty plea if too much time has passed since your guilty plea, or if you were represented by an attorney when you pleaded guilty.

For more information regarding Missouri traffic law, see my traffic law resources page for links to information regarding Missouri speeding tickets, points, Missouri driver’s licenses, courts, and other traffic-related issues.

“Driving While Suspended” Traffic Ticket Stays on Missouri Driving Record Permanently

Some traffic tickets stay on your Missouri driving record forever, such as: “Driving While Suspended”, DWI (Driving While Intoxicated), DUID (Driving Under the Influence of Drugs), Excessive BAC (blood alcohol content), “No Insurance,” “No Driver’s License” (state, not municipal),  “Leaving the Scene of an Accident” (state, not municipal), vehicular manslaughter, any felony, and any conviction involving a drug- or alcohol-related driving offense or enforcement contact.

In Missouri, some first-time DWI and MIP convictions are eligible for expungement (removal or deletion) from your permanent record. See my blog post for more information about expungement of these types of convictions.

A “Driving While Suspended” Traffic Ticket Will Never Qualify to be Removed from Your Missouri Driving Record

Once a year, the Missouri Department of Revenue removes certain types of tickets from its database of driving records. A speeding ticket or other traffic violation can be removed from your Missouri driving record if 1) it was issued for a minor offense, 2) it is more than 3 years old, and 3) it did not cause a suspension or revocation of your driver’s license.  Convictions that stay on your driving record permanently (for “Driving While Suspended,” DWI, DUID, etc.) are not eligible for removal.

What Kinds of Traffic Tickets Are Considered “Minor Offenses” and Qualify to be Removed From Your Missouri Driving Record?

The state of Missouri considers the following to be “minor offenses” and are eligible to be deleted from your driving record: speeding tickets, stop sign violations, “Failure to Signal,” “Failure to Yield,” and “Careless & Imprudent Driving.” These types of tickets will be removed from driving records during the Missouri Department of Revenue’s annual purging of old tickets from its driving record files.

Unfortunately, the Missouri Department of Revenue’s annual housecleaning of its files does not catch all traffic tickets that are eligible to be deleted. See my previous blog post titled “Speeding Ticket Points Stay on Your Missouri Driving Record for Only 18 Months” to find out how to determine if you have old speeding tickets or other traffic violations that are eligible to be deleted from your driving record and how to request that those old tickets be removed.

What Should You Do if You Get a “Driving While Suspended” Traffic Ticket in Missouri?

Don’t ignore a “Driving While Suspended” ticket, mistakenly thinking that it’s just another speeding ticket. As noted previously, a conviction for “Driving While Suspended” stays on your Missouri driving record forever, and any insurance agent who reviews your driving record  prior to giving you a price quote for car insurance will be able to see it.

If you want to avoid a conviction for “Driving While Suspended,” you can hire a traffic law attorney to negotiate a plea bargain with the prosecuting attorney to get the ticket amended to a non-moving, no-point violation. Your lawyer will need to show proof to the Court that your driver’s license has been reinstated before the prosecuting attorney can recommend any type of reduction or amendment of the charge.

If you have multiple “Driving While Suspended” convictions on your driving record, you have less of a chance that a court will agree to amend or reduce your current “Driving While Suspended” charge.

12 Points Are Added to Your Missouri Driving Record for a “Driving While Suspended” Conviction and Your Driver’s License Will be Revoked for 1 Year

If you decide to not hire an attorney to negotiate a plea bargain with the Court and, instead, you decide to just pay the fine for the “Driving While Suspended” ticket, then a conviction for “Driving While Suspended” will be added to your driving record. That conviction will cause 12 points to be added to your driving record. In Missouri, if you accumulate 12 points on your driving record within 12 months, your driver’s license will be revoked for 1 year.

How To Get Your Missouri Driver’s License Reinstated

To find out how to get your driver’s license reinstated, call the Missouri Department of Revenue at (573) 526-2407 ext. 1 or go to this page of the Missouri Department of Revenue web site for information about what is required to get your driver’s license reinstated.

The Requirements for License Reinstatement Vary, Depending on the Reason for the Suspension or Revocation

The requirements for getting your license reinstated depend on the reason your license was suspended or revoked in the first place. For example, if your license was suspended because you refused to take a breathalyzer test during a DWI traffic stop, then you will have to complete a SATOP (Substance Abuse Traffic Offenders Program) class before you can get your driver’s license reinstated.

If your license was suspended because of unpaid speeding tickets, you will have to pay the fines for those tickets and obtain compliance letters from each court to show proof of payment before your license will be reinstated. If you have already pleaded guilty to the traffic violations but your guilty plea was fairly recent, it is possible that a lawyer can withdraw your guilty plea and negotiate a plea bargain with the Court to get the traffic ticket amended to a non-moving, no-point infraction. You will still have to pay fines and court costs, and compliance letters will be required before your license will be reinstated.

You may have to provide proof that you have purchased liability insurance coverage for your car before your driver’s license is reinstated. There is a form called SR-22 that must be filed with the Driver License Bureau in Jefferson City, Missouri to prove that you have met this requirement. Your insurance agent can file the form for you after you purchase the insurance.

Regardless of the reason for your driver’s license suspension or revocation, you will also have to pay a small fee (either $20 or $45), in addition to any fines or court costs that you owe, in order to get your driver’s license reinstated. The amount of the reinstatement fee varies depending on the reason for the suspension or revocation.

For more information about Missouri traffic law, go to my Traffic Law Resources page for links to information regarding Missouri speeding tickets, points, courts, Missouri driver’s licenses, and other traffic-related issues.

 

Speeding Ticket Points Stay on Your Missouri Driving Record for Only 18 Months

Missouri speeding ticket points become inactive after 18 months, and at that point they no longer count toward a suspension of your driver’s license. The 18-month time period starts on the date of the conviction.

The Actual Traffic Ticket Stays on Your Missouri Driving Record for 3 Years

Although the points on your Missouri driving record become inactive after 18 months, the actual traffic ticket stays on your driving record for 3 years or longer, depending on the type of violation.

Some Traffic Tickets Stay on Your Missouri Driving Record for 5 Years

If you are convicted of a traffic violation that leads to a suspension or revocation of your driver’s license, then that speeding ticket or other traffic violation will stay on your Missouri driving record for 5 years, starting from the date of reinstatement of your driver’s license after the suspension or revocation period ends.

What Types of Traffic Tickets Stay on Your Driving Record Permanently?

Convictions for DWI, Excessive BAC (blood alcohol content), DUID (Driving While Under the Influence of Drugs), “no insurance,” “no driver’s license” (state, not municipal), vehicular manslaughter, driving while suspended or revoked, leaving the scene of an accident (state, not municipal), any felony, and any drug- or alcohol-related driving offense or enforcement contact will stay on your Missouri driving record permanently.

Some Traffic Tickets are Automatically Removed from Your Driving Record 

Once a year, the Missouri Department of Revenue does a system-wide sweep to remove certain types of tickets from motorists’ driving records. A ticket is eligible to be removed if it was issued for a minor offense, it is more than 3 years old, and it did not cause a suspension or revocation of your driver’s license.

Tickets that qualify as a “minor offense” include convictions for speeding, stop sign violations, failure to signal, failure to yield, and “careless & imprudent driving.” These types of tickets will be removed from driving records during the Missouri Department of Revenue’s annual “purge” of old tickets from its driving record files.

You Can Ask the Missouri Department of Revenue to Remove Old Traffic Tickets from Your Driving Record

The Missouri Department of Revenue’s annual housecleaning of its files does not catch all tickets that are eligible for removal. Some old tickets could be removed but are overlooked during the annual purging of the files and end up staying on your record longer than necessary. Keep track of how many tickets are on your record and how old they are, then call the Department of Revenue to ask that they delete all old tickets that are eligible for removal. The removal of old speeding tickets from a driving record is sometimes called “expungement.”

How to Know if Your Old Speeding Tickets or Other Traffic Tickets Are Eligible to be Removed from Your Missouri Driving Record

If you have a conviction on your Missouri driving record for a traffic ticket that occurred more than 3 years ago, it did not cause a suspension or revocation of your driver’s license, and it is not a type of ticket that is required to stay on your driving record permanently (DWI, no insurance, etc.), then you can call the Missouri Department of Revenue at (573) 751-4475 and request that they remove that ticket from your driving record. If the old ticket meets those requirements, the Missouri Department of Revenue is required to remove it upon your request.

Additional rules apply to convictions for traffic violations involving CDL (Commercial Driver’s License) or CMV (Commercial Motor Vehicle).

Why You Should Have Old Tickets Removed from Your Driving Record

Insurance agents routinely review your driving record before quoting a price for car insurance. Removing old traffic tickets from your driving record will prevent an insurance agent from seeing anything except current tickets for moving violation convictions or old tickets that are not eligible for removal.

What Are Points on Your Driving Record?

When you receive a speeding ticket and are convicted of a moving violation in Missouri, in addition to paying a fine, points are added to your driving record. If you accumulate too many points, the state will suspend or revoke your driver’s license. The number of points vary depending on the type of offense. For example, a speeding ticket issued by a city or county police officer will cause 2 points to be added to your driving record. If a state police officer issued the speeding ticket, then 3 points are added to your record. A conviction for driving without insurance will cause 4 points to be added to your driving record. And driving while suspended or revoked means 12 points will be added to your driving record.

How Many Points are Added to Your Missouri Driving Record for Each Traffic Violation?

Click here to find out how many points are added to your driving record for traffic violations in Missouri.

Here is a list of some common traffic violations and the number of points that are added to your driving record for each:

Speeding ticket issued by state police officer – 3 points
Speeding ticket issued by county or municipal police officer – 2 points
DWI (1st time) – 8 points
Driving While Suspended – 12 points
Failure to Produce Insurance I.D. – 4 points
No Driver’s License (1st time) – 2 points
Failure to Yield Right-of-Way – 2 points

How Many Points Can You Accumulate Before Your Driver’s License is Suspended?

If you accumulate 8 points within 18 months, the Missouri Department of Revenue will suspend your driver’s license for 30 days. If you are suspended a second time because of points, then your license will be suspended for 60 days; and if it’s your third or more suspension, then your license will be suspended for 90 days.

How Many Points Can You Have on Your Driving Record Before Your Driver’s License is Revoked?

Your Missouri driver’s license will be revoked for 1 year if you accumulate 12 points within 12 months, 18 points within 24 months, or 24 points within 36 months.

How to Find Out How Many Points Are on Your Driving Record

To find out the number of points on your driving record, call the Missouri Department of Revenue at (573) 526-2407 ext. 2. If you recently received a traffic ticket but have not paid the fine yet, those points will not show up on your driving record until after the fine is paid and the conviction is recorded.

Keep Track of the Amount of Points on Your Driving Record

Many people hire an attorney to have their speeding tickets “fixed” (meaning, the attorney negotiates a plea bargain with the prosecutor to have your ticket amended to a non-moving, no-point infraction).

However, some people choose instead to simply pay the fine for their speeding ticket, knowing that points will be added to their driving record. If you choose this option, just be sure to keep track of how many points you have on your driving record. Many drivers get pulled over by police for a routine traffic stop only to be surprised when the officer tells them that their license is suspended because they accumulated too many points.

An Attorney Can Help if Your Driver’s License is Suspended

If your driver’s license is suspended because you failed to pay fines for speeding tickets or other traffic violations, then you can hire an attorney to negotiate a plea bargain with the court to have your tickets amended to non-moving violations, which will reduce the amount of points on your driving record, and the suspension will be canceled.

To learn more about points and suspension or revocation of your Missouri driver’s license, go to my Driving While Revoked/Driving While Suspended page.

Your Attorney May be Able to Help You Withdraw Your Guilty Plea

If you have already pled guilty and paid your fines for a speeding ticket or other traffic violation, then, in some situations, it is possible for an attorney to file a motion to withdraw your guilty plea and negotiate a plea bargain with the court to have those tickets amended to non-moving violations with no points. However, if too much time has passed since your guilty plea, the court may not allow the withdrawal.

For more information, go to the Withdrawal of Guilty Plea page on my website.

To learn more about Missouri traffic law, go to my Traffic Law Resources page for links to information regarding Missouri speeding tickets, points, Missouri driver’s licenses, courts, and other traffic-related issues.